Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 69

Thread: Empty DjO DB after sync

  1. #11
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,464
    Quote Originally Posted by Lexie View Post
    Hello Mar00K,

    Everything on my HTC Desire HD is as originally delivered when I bought it. The ROM therefore also.

    Alexandra
    And that is exactly why Alexandra is my point person for isolating and this issue.
    Alexandra, thank you for your patience and assistance in this matter.

    Mar00K,
    We will get to the bottom of this and we will keep you updated here.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    166
    No thanks necessary!
    I am glad I can help and very happy that you are still on it.

  3. #13
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,464
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
    And that is exactly why Alexandra is my point person for isolating and this issue.
    Alexandra, thank you for your patience and assistance in this matter.

    Mar00K,
    We will get to the bottom of this and we will keep you updated here.
    If yuo reviewed my thread with Alex, you may have noticed that at one point Alex swapped her SD Card. Alex tried that and it did not help. I doubt this is the issue for either of you, but please keep it in the back of your mind that may eventually be part of our troubleshooting on this one.

    Question for
    Alex and Mar00K,
    What wireless carrier you both using? What country are you located in?
    I want to research if there are regional variations to 2.3.3 that may be a factor.

    Thanks.

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
    I have not stopped looking for a resolution to this issue. It is not specific to Cyanogen.
    Thank you for your answer. Now I understand you point. But for better understanding we need to determine "support" term. =)
    As far as I understand, if some bug is not ROM-specific but Android OS version-specific, say "we not support this ROM" is not linked to the problem itself.

    If I can help in any way (send log file and so on), let me know. But after creating this thread, DjO DB is never cleared. I do backup of clusb.db before every sync, but for now everything is ok for 2 days (and about 5-7 sync procedures).

  5. #15
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,464
    Quote Originally Posted by Mar00k View Post
    Thank you for your answer. Now I understand you point. But for better understanding we need to determine "support" term. =)
    As far as I understand, if some bug is not ROM-specific but Android OS version-specific, say "we not support this ROM" is not linked to the problem itself.

    If I can help in any way (send log file and so on), let me know. But after creating this thread, DjO DB is never cleared. I do backup of clusb.db before every sync, but for now everything is ok for 2 days (and about 5-7 sync procedures).
    Mar00K,
    I am very glad to hear things have smoothed out for you. I hope this is the case moving forward. Keep us informed if that is not the case.
    In my world a non EOM ROM presents the possibility of outside complications. Ideally if we need to gather log files or a phone database we would want to gather those from a customer using an OEM ROM. I will keep your offer in mind but for now it is best to work with a supported ROM.
    Think of it this way -
    If this was PC bug, and one user was on Windows ME and one was using Windows XP.
    The developer may not support Windows ME, but the solution they provide for their Windows XP user may also fix the problem for the Windows ME user.
    However the developer only focuses their attention on fixing the XP bug and gathers relevant data, error codes, and information from the XP user. The developer then programs the solution directly for the XP problem.

    I think a language barrier is a factor in this as well.
    Just because two users on 2.3.3 (out of thousands) are having the same problem does not mean CompanionLink does not support 2.3.3. That was the statement I took exception to.
    It means two users are having an issue and we (CompanionLink) are providing support to resolve the issue.

    I hope this helps clear up where I am coming from.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    166
    Hello Thomas,

    I did send you another log file from CL and DJO since something weird happened with my DJO.
    Again no data lost

    On your question in Mar00K's post:
    I use Vodafone and live in the Netherlands.
    If you want more specifics on this I will mail that to you because I don't want to give any info online.
    That's why I like DJO so much instead of google

    I will from now on post in the post I started to keep thing easy for me.

    Regards,
    Alexandra

  7. #17
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,464
    Quote Originally Posted by Lexie View Post
    Hello Thomas,

    I did send you another log file from CL and DJO since something weird happened with my DJO.
    Again no data lost

    On your question in Mar00K's post:
    I use Vodafone and live in the Netherlands.
    If you want more specifics on this I will mail that to you because I don't want to give any info online.
    That's why I like DJO so much instead of google

    I will from now on post in the post I started to keep thing easy for me.

    Regards,
    Alexandra
    Thank you! Yes lets keep it to the original post.

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
    Question for
    Alex and Mar00K,
    What wireless carrier you both using? What country are you located in?
    I want to research if there are regional variations to 2.3.3 that may be a factor.
    Thanks.
    I'm on Velcom, Belarus. Velcom is a member of telecom austria group.
    I use windows 7.

    But in fact I think this bug is about bad DB file after unmounting. Last 2 days I always do "safe unmount" in windows statusbar. I don't know if this helps, but there was not any DB-empty bugs for 2 days.

    In fact I absolutely don't understand why this never happens on android 2.2.. I see SDK changes and found no any changes that can be source of this bug...

    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
    It means two users are having an issue and we (CompanionLink) are providing support to resolve the issue.
    Thank you, I hope this is your main point of view.

  9. #19
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,464
    Quote Originally Posted by Mar00k View Post
    I'm on Velcom, Belarus. Velcom is a member of telecom austria group.
    I use windows 7.

    But in fact I think this bug is about bad DB file after unmounting. Last 2 days I always do "safe unmount" in windows statusbar. I don't know if this helps, but there was not any DB-empty bugs for 2 days.

    In fact I absolutely don't understand why this never happens on android 2.2.. I see SDK changes and found no any changes that can be source of this bug...



    Thank you, I hope this is your main point of view.
    Safe unmount procedure should be followed always. That very well may be part of the problem. The solution for that will always be to some degree in the hands of the user.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    166
    I always did use the safe unmount procedure as my husband learned me (IT-specialist), so in my case that's not it.
    I am always doing the things as I learned them because I am very clueless about the PC and stuff like that.
    Since I have my HTC I am learning to do more things like that because my husband has an Iphone and said I should try and learn to do it myself.
    I now know more about android phones than he does. So he is no help anymore. And I am proud of myself for learning it.

    I use windows XP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •