Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Settings reset after CL upgrade

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    518

    Angry Settings reset after CL upgrade

    I just upgraded CL to the latest version.
    Why (TH) do I have to redo all my DJO settings on the Android?
    - Every DJO app is empty
    - Starting DJO shows me the welcome dialog
    That's not normal behavior, is it?

  2. #2
    DejaOffice Team
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by McLion View Post
    I just upgraded CL to the latest version.
    Why (TH) do I have to redo all my DJO settings on the Android?
    - Every DJO app is empty
    - Starting DJO shows me the welcome dialog
    That's not normal behavior, is it?
    McLion-
    We have seen a small number of reports similar to this. Basically, your database reset itself. We are still researching the exact cause of this as we cannot reproduce this in-house yet. We reached out to a number of users but the problem appears to be sporadic, which makes it hard to pin down. One user said they were able to reproduce it whenever they saw DejaOffice crash at the "Press OK when the PC sync completes" box.

    Are you syncing via USB?

    If so, have you experienced DejaOffice crashing or getting a force close message during a USB sync?

    If so, can you recall at what time during the sync process the app crashed, i.e. before the Press OK box appeared, after the Press OK button appears, or after hitting the OK button.


    This issue might be related to certain people's SD cards becoming corrupt. We recommend running through the steps below to repair/reformat your SD card.

    http://www.companionlink.com/support...ndroid_SD_card

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    518

    Angry

    It just now happened again after updating to CL 4048 - it's a PITA.

    I am syncing via USB. I never had a crash or a force close message during sync.

    The SD card does not seem to be corrupt as a I can perfectly use it from android as well as when connected and shared to the PC.

    - Upgrading CL
    - Selecting PnR and sync - w/o errors
    - Directly starting Deja Contacts or Deja Calendar returns completely empty apps
    - closing Deja
    - starting Deja shows the welcome dialog and the assistant for the setup
    - now all settings have gone
    - PnR syncing again
    - back to normal ... except for all of the preference settings

  4. #4
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,482
    Quote Originally Posted by McLion View Post
    It just now happened again after updating to CL 4048 - it's a PITA.

    I am syncing via USB. I never had a crash or a force close message during sync.

    The SD card does not seem to be corrupt as a I can perfectly use it from android as well as when connected and shared to the PC.

    - Upgrading CL
    - Selecting PnR and sync - w/o errors
    - Directly starting Deja Contacts or Deja Calendar returns completely empty apps
    - closing Deja
    - starting Deja shows the welcome dialog and the assistant for the setup
    - now all settings have gone
    - PnR syncing again
    - back to normal ... except for all of the preference settings
    Hello McLion,

    So sorry to hear you had to go through those hoops after updating to 4048. I am glad to hear that it sounds like after a mild inconvenience everything is working again. Please correct me if I am wrong about that.
    Is this behavior occurring on DejaOffice 1.11.9 or 1.12.0_beta?
    Did you follow the steps to check the SDcard for corruption in the link posted by Jason?

    What Android device and OS are you using? - Have there been any recent changes to your device OS?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    518
    At first it happened after the CL update to 4048. DJO was on 1.11.9 at that time. Actually, it happens after every update of CL or DJO.

    Now, I updated DJO to 1.12.0 and with the first sync it happened again. Funny enough, this time it did not reset all of the settings in DJO. The display/font sizes are still there but it showed me the welcome assistant again as well as all the apps have been empty after the first sync and some other settings have been reset too. After taping through the assistant without doing any changes and another PnR sync, everything's back to normal.
    Since, I am syncing to my Home PC as well - only from time to time, not on a regular basis like with the work PC - it will happen there again and I will have to reset everything once more.

    I did not do all the steps with the SD card. I will repeat it and completely follow the steps. However, I am sure it is not the SD card since as along as no update of either CL or DJO takes place everything works a treat. It's only after updating either one.
    Edit: Just did a chkdsk /r ... no errors found

    It's HTC Desire S with 2.3.3 and there have not been any recent changes to the OS.
    Last edited by McLion; 08-15-2011 at 05:23 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    518
    When I do a PnR, the same kicks in: DJO empty after sync, closing and reopening DJO kicks off assistant, needing another sync ... and all settings are gone again.
    I wonder what happen when I sync to the 2nd PC at home tonight ... actually, I guess I do (unfortunately) know!

    I cant remember anymore how many times I now did re-set all my preferences in DJO !!!

  7. #7
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,482
    Quote Originally Posted by McLion View Post
    When I do a PnR, the same kicks in: DJO empty after sync, closing and reopening DJO kicks off assistant, needing another sync ... and all settings are gone again.
    I wonder what happen when I sync to the 2nd PC at home tonight ... actually, I guess I do (unfortunately) know!

    I cant remember anymore how many times I now did re-set all my preferences in DJO !!!
    Mclion,

    Our team is working on a theory behind this issue.

    For some users, we have had them select the Back button when they see the wizard after completing a USB sync, and their data has stayed in tact.
    Can anyone experiencing this issue please select the Back button if you see the wizard appear after syncing?
    Please report the results here.

  8. #8
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,482
    Mclion,

    I edited my previous post. Please re read post #7 from me.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    518
    - After the 1st PnR all the apps are empty in DJO
    - Opening the DJO Home-screen then shows the Wizard .. and I select the back button this time ;-)
    - Still, it needs a second sync then (PnR to be safe to not harm the OL data)
    - And ... all the preference settings in DJO are gone again!

  10. #10
    DejaOffice Team Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,482
    Quote Originally Posted by McLion View Post
    - After the 1st PnR all the apps are empty in DJO
    - Opening the DJO Home-screen then shows the Wizard .. and I select the back button this time ;-)
    - Still, it needs a second sync then (PnR to be safe to not harm the OL data)
    - And ... all the preference settings in DJO are gone again!
    MCLion,

    Sounds like the data was lost if the settings data was missing. How are things for you now?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •